Equestrian team for ParalympicsGB chosen

Equestrian team for ParalympicsGB chosen

The BPA announced the five Equestrian athletes who will seek to maintain the impressive track record of British riders at the Paralympic Games.

The 2012 squad will feature a combination of youth and experience, with nine-time Paralympian Lee Pearson (Grade Ib) set to make his fourth ParalympicsGB appearance alongside Deborah Criddle (Grade III), whilst for Sophie Christiansen (Grade Ia), London will be her third Games, having joined both Lee and Deborah in the squad for Athens in 2004 and Beijing in 2008. Between them the selected athletes have represented Great Britain at ten Paralympic Games, winning a total of fourteen medals.

They are joined by Sophie Wells (Grade IV) and Natasha Baker (Grade II) – both of whom achieve Paralympic selection for the first time.

Britain’s riders topped the medal table in Beijing, winning five gold medals including team gold for the fourth consecutive Games. The four team riders will be hoping to capitalise on their previous successes at Paralympic Games and record their fifth team title, having won team gold at every Paralympic Games since the sport was introduced at Atlanta in 1996. 

Paralympic Equestrian Team Leader, David Hunter commented: “Great Britain will be sending what I believe to be one of the strongest and best prepared squads to the Paralympic Games.

“The five riders and their support teams have worked extremely hard all the way through the selection process and my heartfelt congratulations goes to them; as well as my condolences to those who did not make the squad."